Skip to content

Staying Organized and Making the Most of Your Summer

July 6, 2012

When July arrives with its heat, fireworks, celebrations, and family get-togethers, I will admit, I am ready to take a break from planning and school work. With that confession I will also say, I still want to make the most of my summer both professionally and personally. I want to enjoy a good time and still stay organized with no last-minute rush just before school starts.

This week I enjoyed time with good friends and volunteered with my husband at a golf tournament. (Teachers are so good at crowd control and “Quiet Please” admonitions.) Next week is time with family. All will truly renew my spirit.

I have talked in the past about my preferred method of organization – lists. See last summer’s post, Summer is Flying By and our book, Survivng to Thriving: Mastering the Art of the Elementary Classroom for more ideas about the ways Master Teachers stay organized. Most of my lists are now electronic on either my iPhone or my iPad, allowing me to easily check off and add anytime and anywhere. Now is the time to make or review those lists. What do you need to do to make the most of your summer break? What personal tasks need attention? Are there medical appointments you need to take care of? What is on your personal Wish List? Is there a book you want to read, a museum you want to visit, or a hike you want to take?

I am going to download the new book Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. (Young adult: Ages 14 and up.) I haven’t read it, but I have found numerous reviews recommending it. For a review, go to An Education in Books Blog.

Remember it is important to take care of you. Find time to reflect, relax, and renew, so that you are ready and eager for the new school year to begin.

Enjoy the week/summer.

Linda

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 8:28 am

    Can’t wait to hear what you say about Code Name Verity! It’s for adults, too.

Leave a Reply

