Skip to content

Update – Pinterest- A Valuable Tool for Educators

July 25, 2012

Earlier this year I talked about Pinterest as a novice.  I had just started to use it and learn more about it. Now I can say, I love it. Pinterest allows me to easily collaborate and share resources, articles, and  ideas with students, colleagues, and even educators I have never met.

I now have 24 Boards and (as of this morning) 648 pins. Many of the pins are from lessons, presentations, or resources I already had, but many are ideas I find on Pinterest shared by fellow educators. Some are former and current students. Pinterest is a great way to share.

Follow me on Pinterest

Pinterest is now part of my daily routine. I belong to several educational listservs and follow many educational blogs and newsletters. Every morning when I go through my emails, I pin useful resources and ideas to Pinterest for my followers and for easy reference for myself. It is a great tool for both organization and sharing. While I am pinning from my email, I take a few minutes to see what has been newly pinned and repin good ideas to my boards. Be careful. Finding these great ideas can be addictive.

Everything you need to know to get started can be found on Pinterest.

I do not recommend using Pinterest with K-12 students. It is not just for education. There are boards for almost any topic you can think of. I also check each link before repinning to my boards. The graphic may be eye-catching but may not lead to the site that is described or expected.

If you have ideas or advice please comment below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa P. permalink
    July 26, 2012 4:23 pm

    Hi Linda,

    I took some time to look at some of your 24 Pinterest boards. Very cool and visually easy to figure out. Neat way to share information

  2. Tara Noah permalink
    July 25, 2012 3:16 pm

    Hi Linda! I just wanted to say that I think Pinterest could be used with high school students (and maybe even middle schoolers). My thoughts were that it would be a good way for group members to collaborate on resources for projects. It is possible to set up a profile that allows multiple users to pin, which means that each student could have their own login but pin to the same board. It could be a great way for students to share resources and organize ideas, especially when group members’ schedules make it difficult to get together….each could pin resources when they have time to work on it. I haven’t used it in this way, but it might be something worth looking into for older students! =)
    Tara

    • July 31, 2012 7:38 am

      Thanks for the comments.
      We are hoping that in the future there will be “educational” access, so that we can monitor and protect students. There is a good article at http://mashable.com/2012/03/22/teachers-using-pinterest/ Teachers Pin With Their Students. Students 13 and under are not permitted by Pinterest to use the site. There is a lot of unmonitored content on Pinterest. There are often inappropriate images that we have no control over.
      Linda

Leave a Reply

