Skip to content

World Read Aloud Day 2013

February 8, 2013

For those of you who know me or follow my blog, you understand the value placed on reading and literacy in my classroom, family, and everyday life. I will admit that reading is one of my favorite activities. I can do it when there are papers to be graded, laundry to wash, lessons to plan or situations I do not want to deal with. Reading is my escape, my joy, and my conveyance to worlds and places I can only imagine (or visit through a book).

Again this year I am promoting World Read Aloud Day, because I do imagine a world where everyone can read.

If you are looking for an engaging and fun activity for the winter doldrums, check the links below for some great classroom activities and ideas. Consider planning a WRAD event for your classroom or taking the WRAD Blogging challenge with your students. (I’m taking the challenge. It starts Sunday!)

Why We Celebrate World Read Aloud Day

Worldwide at least 793 million people remain illiterate.

Imagine a world where everyone can read…

World Read Aloud Day is about taking action to show the world that the right to read and write belongs to all people. World Read Aloud Day motivates children, teens, and adults worldwide to celebrate the power of words, especially those words that are shared from one person to another, and creates a community of readers advocating for every child’s right to a safe education and access to books and technology. By raising our voices together on this day we show the world’s children that we support their future: that they have the right to read and share their words to change the world.

http://litworld.org/worldreadaloudday/

In the Land of Words

by Eloise Greenfieldlitworldwrad13badge

In the land of words,
I stand as still
as a tree,
and let the words
rain down on me.
Come, rain, bring
your knowledge and your
music. Sing while I grow green
and full.
I’ll stand as still
as a tree, and let your blessings
fall on me.

From WRAD 2013 Activity Packet

How about you? How will you prepare for and celebrate WRAD?

Follow these links for ideas and activities.

What are others doing for WRAD?

What are you doing for WRAD? Please share your ideas in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

