Skip to content

World Read Aloud Day Blogging Challenge

February 16, 2013

Last week I accepted the World Read Aloud Day Blogging Challenge. Today is the last day for Week 1, so here goes…..

Week 1: February 10 – February 16

What do you think is special about reading aloud?

Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.

— Emilie Buchwald

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go.

— Dr. Seuss, “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”

My first memories of read-alouds are sitting on the left side of my mother as she read. My older brother was on her right side. I can’t remember what she was reading at that moment in time, but I think it must have been one of our Little Golden Books. I do remember that my favorite was The Little Red Caboose, written by Marian Potter and illustrated by Tibor Gergely.  I loved the illustrations, but I most of all loved that the little caboose saved the entire train. There are some valuable life lessons in that book.The Little Red Caboose

Read-alouds are special, because even before we can read ourselves, we see and hear parents, teachers, and caring adults read about places and experiences that broaden our outlook, our perspective, and even our world. Thank you mom for taking time to read to us, even when you were very tired. Reading is more than language and decoding it is a part of our memories and our possibilities.

March 6 is World Read Aloud day and I want to be a part of it. I will not be in a classroom on March 6. It will be a planning and writing day for me. I am thinking about sharing a short read-aloud with my co-authors. They love books too!

What will you do on World Read Aloud Day?

See last week’s post on World Read Aloud Day for more information and resources.

litworldwrad13badge

 

Leave a Reply

