Skip to content

World Read Aloud Day Blog Challenge Week 2

February 23, 2013

Now & Then

I’m not sure this post will be interesting to all of my readers, but I took the challenge, so here goes. . . . As  I try to remember back to the time when I wareaders 10, I remember reading always and trips to the County Library to check out my limit of books, but it is hard to remember particular titles. I also remember all of my elementary teachers reading aloud to us every day. Take the challenge for yourself. I hope you have good memories of reading….past and present.

Challenge Directions: Answer the following questions twice. The first time, answer how you would have when you were 10 years old (or any age from elementary school that you remember clearly) and the second time, answer in the present.

1. I think everyone in the world should read…

When I was 10:
Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilderhouse
I loved the Little House series. I had listened to my grandmothers tell stories about growing up in the early 1900’s. I thought they were Laura.

Now:
I think we all have such diverse interests that I could never recommend a book that everyone in the world should read, but one of my favorite books is The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls.

2. If I could listen to anyone in the world read aloud to me it would be…

When I was 10:
I honestly can’t remember authors from that period of my life. Popular media was not what it is today, but I remember all of my teachers were remarkable read alouders. Everyday after lunch recess we heard a chapter of a book. One book that quickly comes to mind is the Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain. I know for my son it would be Roald Dahl.

Now:
As a teacher I have grown to love the Eric Carle children’s books. I would enjoy hearing him read any of his books. I would also love to hear Maya Angelou read from her book, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

3. When I read aloud, my favorite character to impersonate is…

When I was 10:
Now:
I’m really not the one to try to  impersonate. I read aloud with drama and enthusiasm trying to match the personality of the characters, but I’m not sure you could ever connect my reading voices with any character or person.

4. The genre that takes up the most room on my bookshelf (or e-reader) is…

When I was 10: Historical Fiction

Now: Historical Fiction ….One of my very favorites is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. On a lighter note our family loved Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by  Seth Grahame-Smiththief also recommended by my son.

5. The last book I wish I’d written or inspired me to write my own story is…

When I was 10:
Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maude Montgomery. ( My mother’s name is Lucy, and one of my grandmothers was named Maude.)

Now: Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed ( I wish I had been brave enough to take that challenge and go on that journey.)

Enjoy the week.

Information and Resources for WRAD – March 6, 2013

World Read Aloud Day 2013

World Read Aloud Day Blogging Challenge

Week 1 Challenge

Literacy in the Classroom: Read Alouds…

Read-Alouds in the Classroom

Leave a Reply

