Skip to content

Twitter Board Activity

August 10, 2012

Update August 27, 2014

I am still  a novice at Twitter, but am now an active Twitterer. You can follow me @llcarpenter. My tweets are almost exclusively devoted to the field of  education.

Original Post August 2012

According to Wikipedia, Twitter is an online social networking service and microblogging service that enables its users to send and read text-based messages of up to 140 characters, known as “tweets.” Information sharing can be fast and furious.

I admit I am a limited user of Twitter. I tweet my blog posts and follow several other educational tweeters for news, updates, and educational resources which I occasionally retweet to my followers.

If you teach middle school or high school, your students may already be master tweeters. Elementary students will definitely know what Twitter is. Note: If your students are under the age of 13, they cannot create their own Twitter account (Minimum Age Restriction).

I am still thinking of appropriate uses for “real” Twitter, but in the meantime I created an analog Twitter Board Activity to use in my classroom for brainstorming, discussion, sharing, and formative assessment exit cards.

My students brainstormed ideas for an important essay. We discussed the writing prompts and the rubric requirements. Each student then completed a different colored tweet for each required element of the essay. The Twitter Board on the classroom wall was a great way to share ideas and was a visual reminder as we worked on our project. Students took pictures of the board with their cell phones.

Download the Twitter Cards and Activity Directions below.

Download our Twitter Freebie on TPT

Think of ways you can use Twitter professionally or in your classroom and follow this blog on twitter. Let us know what you are trying in your classroom.

#Makeitagoodweek!

Linda C.

Resources and Ideas to Consider:

 

Leave a comment