Skip to content

Teaching with The Hunger Games

April 12, 2012

As an educator, I have always thought it is important to not only know what my students are reading, but to read it as well. This way I can “speak their language” intelligently.  Because of this philosophy I was introduced to Harry Potter a few years ago, joyfully read the entire series, and was invited to view the movies with my son.

When The Hunger Games remained on the best seller list for so long, I decided there must be something of interest there. Over the winter break I read the entire trilogy. A couple of weeks ago we saw the movie. Our family “book talks” now center on the differences in the book and the movie, what the reviewers of both are saying, and a discussion of dystopia, utopia, futuristic, or a  post-apocalyptic North American society. One of us is seeing the movie a second time to enhance their qualifications to critique the authenticity and motives of the movie. I am just going to reread the book.

The love of reading gives us opportunities to think critically about not only literature but other media as well. It lets us make meaningful connections to our lives and our possibilities. Reading expands our minds and broadens our horizons. If we can use popular literature to engage our young readers, then by all means let’s do it. Maybe along the way our readers will learn to appreciate Shakespeare and Hemingway.

Below are resources and articles to help you incorporate The Hunger Games into your instruction.

May the odds be ever in your favor. Effie Trinket-The Hunger Games

Make it a good day.

Linda

Resources for The Hunger Games
(Appropriate for Grades 7-12) (Updated May 5, 2013)

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 11:40 pm

    A work mate referred me to your site. Thnx for the
    details.

    • March 23, 2013 7:12 am

      You are very welcome. I am glad you find the site useful. “May the odds be ever in your favor.”
      Linda

  2. February 27, 2013 2:10 pm

    “Teaching with The Hunger Games | From Surviving to Thriving” arlingtoncountyfair.
    org was in fact seriously engaging and informative!
    Within the present day world that’s very hard to manage.
    I am grateful, Philomena

  3. January 30, 2013 7:54 am

    Many thanks for utilizing free time to write “Teaching with The Hunger
    Games From Surviving to Thriving”. Thanks a ton yet again -Chase

  4. January 22, 2013 9:53 am

    Perhaps more for adults and possibly upper high school, the book The Hunger Games and Philosophy: A Critique of Pure Treason was fabulous.

  5. December 16, 2012 10:41 am

    Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, terrific blog!

    • December 17, 2012 8:15 am

      Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you find the resources useful. I have checked the blog in both browsers and do not see a problem on my computer. I use the standard WordPress template and have little control over how it is viewed on specific computers. Check to make sure you have downloaded the latest version of the browser you use. I do appreciate your comments. Have a great day.

  6. June 1, 2012 8:17 pm

    Great blog! I was wondering where all the URL referrals were coming from! I really like your post about teaching with ‘The Avengers’… what a great idea!

    • June 1, 2012 8:51 pm

      Thank you for the excellent resource. I am always interested in engaging ideas for the classroom.

      Linda

  7. tcbooth permalink
    April 21, 2012 8:58 pm

    My daughter’s 7th grade teacher is excellent at hooking the children up with books they will enjoy. My daughter read the Hunger Games and in turn got me hooked on the series. We saw the movie together and discussed the elements of both. I am enjoying your blog.

    • April 23, 2012 12:55 pm

      You daughter is fortunate to have an engaging teacher. Thanks for sharing and thanks for following Surviving to Thriving. We appreciate your comments.
      Linda

  8. myfriendmissmiller permalink
    April 13, 2012 11:05 pm

    That’s a great idea. I really miss teaching English even though I LOVE history! We need more teachers like you who teach according to the students’ interests. Those were the teachers I loved the most!

    • April 23, 2012 12:58 pm

      Thank you for the commments. The combination of literature and social studies is a great way to engage student interest. Glad to hear you had awesome teachers.
      Linda C.

Trackbacks

  1. Catching Fire | From Surviving to Thriving
  2. Catching Fire | From Surviving to Thriving
  3. Hunger Games in the Classroom!
  4. Blog Updates and Resources for Educators | From Surviving to Thriving
  5. We added new links for “Teaching with The Hunger Games” « From Surviving to Thriving
  6. Hunger Games – Lesson plans, worksheets, and handouts « History Tech
  7. More Links for Hunger Games « From Surviving to Thriving
  8. Hunting for Hunger Games lessons? « Differentiation Daily

Leave a comment